

April 2021

## Fact Sheet Arizona Department of Health Services 150 N. 18<sup>th</sup> Avenue, Phoenix, Arizona <u>www.azdhs.gov</u> Cara M. Christ, M.D., M.S., Director

Vision: Health and Wellness for all Arizonans.

**Mission Statement:** To promote, protect, and improve the health and wellness of individuals and communities in Arizona.

**Organizational Structure:** The Department is organized into six major divisions, the Director's Office and the Office of Continuous Improvement. The six Divisions are the Division of Policy & Intergovernmental Affairs, the Division of Planning & Operations, the Division of Public Health Prevention, the Division of Public Health Preparedness, the Division of Public Health Licensure, and the Arizona State Hospital.

**Director's Office:** The Director's Office provides overall Department guidance and decision making.

**Office of Continuous Improvement:** This Office provides overall Department strategic planning support and is responsible for compliance with the Department's Public Health Accreditation.

**Division of Policy & Intergovernmental Affairs:** This Division houses the Department's Chief Legislative Officer, the Office of Administrative Counsel & Rules, the Communication Director, the Office of Border Health, the County Health Liaison, and the Native American Liaison.

**Division of Planning & Operations:** This Division houses the Office of Financial Services, the Office of Information Technology Services, and the Office of Human Resources.

**Division of Public Health Prevention:** This Division is responsible for promoting the health of Arizona communities through various programs and policies. The Division is comprised of three Bureaus which are:

- Bureau of Women's and Children's Health
- Bureau of Nutrition and Physical Activity
- Bureau of Chronic Disease & Health Promotion

**Division of Public Health Preparedness:** This Division is responsible for rapid detection, response and control to health emergencies such as infectious diseases, chemical spills and fires. The Division is comprised of five bureaus which are:

- Bureau of Emergency Medical Services and Trauma System
- Bureau of Epidemiology and Disease Control
- Bureau of Public Health Statistics
- Bureau of State Laboratory Services
- Bureau of Public Health Emergency Preparedness

**Division of Public Health Licensure Services:** This Division protects the health and safety of Arizona citizens by regulating and licensing healthcare facilities, child care facilities, midwives, hearing aid dispensers, speech pathologists, and audiologists. License Services also serves as the state's Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services representative by completing Medicare Certification Surveys of medical and long-term care facilities. The Division is organized into two Branch Service Areas and seven Bureaus which are:

Health Care Institutional Licensing Branch

- Bureau of Medical Facilities Licensing
- Bureau of Residential Facilities Licensing
- Bureau of Long-Term Care Licensing

Centralized Services Branch

- Bureau of Special Licensing
- Bureau of Child Care Licensing
- Bureau of Vital Records
- Bureau of Radiation Control

**Arizona State Hospital (ASH):** ASH is located on a 93-acre campus at 24<sup>th</sup> Street and Van Buren, in Phoenix, Arizona. ASH provides long-term inpatient psychiatric care to patients with serious mental illness. ASH has three separate components which are:

- The Civil Hospital with 116 beds
- The Forensic Hospital with143 beds
- The Arizona Community Protection and Treatment Center (ACPTC) with 100 beds.

Native American Liaison: Michael Allison, 602-364-1041,

michael.allison@azdhs.gov.

ADHS Native American Website: <u>www.azdhs.gov/director/tribal-liaison/index.php</u>

Douglas A. Ducey | Governor Cara M. Christ, MD, MS | Director